Reflections on Reflections

A comment made at many parents’ evenings throughout school was that I was a quiet boy. ‘He rarely raises his hand to answer questions’ they complained, but they had to concede that I never disrupted the flow of the class. ‘Conscientious’ was the most consistent descriptor used on those evenings. Being quiet enabled me to soak in all the contributions made in the class and process them thoroughly before I came to my own conclusions. I would learn by taking the time to reflect on what others said, rather than jumping in feet first and blind!

Five years on since leaving secondary school, I’d like to think that my reflective approach has made me a more intelligent person on two levels: the analytical level, and the emotional level. In both my work and my life I take the time to reflect on the challenges at hand. This way I have learnt more about myself and the world around me.

Now, I feel that it is time to share my reflections with other people. This is partly so you can get to know me better. Nevertheless, there is an ulterior motive. I also want to learn from you through your responses and feedback, whilst encouraging people to be more reflective in their own lives. As a consequence, Expressed Perspective is an open platform, so please get in touch if you want to contribute. I will be posting my interpretations of various works, from film, to song, to stories of the Bible, in the hope that we might start a conversation on different topics we can all learn from.

One thought on “Reflections on Reflections

Comments

